Day 17, Peach Fuzz and Celery Hearts

SundayMorning

I’ve been feeling a little dysphoric lately, and one way to chase away the blues is through taking pictures of oneself to try and establish a sense of empowerment. It helps a little.

Not much changes that I’ve noticed since last week although my throat is still a little sore.  I’ve noticed a little bit of peach fuzz on my face, but I’m unsure if it’s any different than what has been there before pre-T. My face kind of itches a little bit around where the peach fuzz is–which makes me feel kind of excited and hopeful that it’s rugged stubble trying to make its way. My shoulders have also felt kind of sore lately too.  The groggy run-down feeling has passed thankfully.

clearface

sunday sleepy face

I took this picture this morning.  My face-washing daily ritual has worked amazingly! My face is almost totally and completely clear!  I think one of the main reasons for this is that I’m using oil-free cleanser.

I’ve been doing a bit better on the eating-healthy track. I still struggle going to the gym and exercising like the way I used to.  I managed to go yesterday and do a full workout.  I’m not as strong as I was a month or so ago, but I will give myself credit for going again. Depression makes it so hard to do things I once really enjoyed, but I’m trying to get back into that routine again to help with end-of-semester stress.

Officially 2 wks on t, Nov 5th, on my way to a film shoot

Officially 2 wks on t, Nov 5th, on my way to a film shoot

My healthy eating has really gotten me obsessed with celery! Every day this week I have eaten an entire heart! I call myself a veggie-werewolf….stalking for celery hearts.  But seriously, it’s such a perfect snack, especially with some spicy hummus. It has a wonderful crunch and it fills me up, keeping me from wanting to binge on potato chips.  For breakfast during the week I’ve been gulping down a glass of milk, coffee, and a large banana. This coming week I’m going to eat some steel-cut oatmeal. I focus better in my classes with a good breakfast.

Here are some of the meals I’ve had during the week. A growing lad needs reliable building blocks for the body:

Turkey patty, sweet potato and greens

Salmon, sweet potato, steamed broccoli

Salmon, sweet potato, steamed broccoli

Lean top sirloin with garlic and onions. (not pictured, quinoa, greens, and sweet potato)

Lean top sirloin with garlic and onions. (not pictured, quinoa, greens, and sweet potato)

Greek yogurt with frozen blueberries, 3 eggs and hashbrowns

Greek yogurt with frozen blueberries, 3 eggs and hashbrowns

I’ve had a couple breakdowns this past week due to stress and homesickness and intense worry over post-college and what I may be able to do.  But this afternoon I’m focusing on the present and doing what I can. It’ll all turn out okay.  Like all other college students at this point, we’re all running on coffee!

17days

Thank you for reading and I will post again soon!

-Ravn Thor

This entry was posted in Transition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 17, Peach Fuzz and Celery Hearts

  1. Nikita says:

    Really cool. Your diet sounds and looks great!!

  2. Kelly Ricks says:

    The account of your transition is so full of positives. You acknowledge the pain, the depression, the struggles with stress and worry–allowing for the acknowledged experience of those feelings as a part of it all–but I am glad you’re then able to give yourself credit for taking action toward your goals. That can be such a challenge. But at the risk of sounding trite, keep up the good work! And by the way, those meals look SO delectable!

Leave a Reply

