7 Months, 3 days

Hey!

 

(The last picture on the right is what I took 3 days ago)

Long time, no post!  It was a very intensely busy last couple of months. I graduated college, came out as medically transitioning, changed doctors, and switched to injections!

received_10154353856152122.jpeg

(I graduated Magna Cum Laude with Iota Iota Iota Triota Womens and Gender Studies Honors, and LGBTQIA honors)

I’m now moved back in with my partner and am working at the job I was working previously before going to MSUM. I work at a historic site as a groundskeeper, 20hrs a week, 9/hr.  I get paid only once a month. I’m currently scouring for another job to add on to it.  I’m also finishing up my last class online with an Intro To Nutrition Class.

My plan is to take a year off to work and apply to graduate school.

160523_170923_collage-1.jpg

My last appointment with my previous doctor left me feeling rather…I don’t know…like he didn’t really care? Or cared enough to know what he was doing? My T levels had dropped exponentially, and he was seeing me and then having me do the blood test after—and not increasing much of the T.  It’s about 500bucks or more to see him since my insurance won’t cover this kind of healthcare (I hope that changes soon.) Plus buying the T gel was 72 dollars a month.  Suffice to say, I was feeling very dejected.  I don’t really look any different as you can see on the timeline.  My partner found out about a trans-healthcare clinic that is non-profit and sliding-pay-scale  in the Twin Cities.  The cost of Gas and going to that clinic is waaaaay cheaper than going to Sanford.  I started Injections last week and gave myself an injection this Monday. Monday’s are officially my shot days.  I’m looking forward to finally transitioning.  I was really nervous about giving myself shots, but it feels so natural–like it’s meant to be. My experience at Family Tree Clinic was so wonderful. I was treated with kindness and respect. I was around other Transmen and Trans-gender-non-conforming folks and they actually LISTENED to me.  It was so validating and affirming.  And the Nurse practitioner was so genuine and kind to me.  She grew up from my side of the prairie in Western NoDak, which was a really cool coincidence.

A trans-advocate named Damien told me that some transguys use Rogaine or generic brand on their face to encourage faster hair growth.  I decided to give it a shot and also take a biotin supplement.

160518_221319_collage-1.jpg

I’ll be sure to keep track of my progress and if it works.  I really am hoping to have some stubble by the end of the summer!

I’m looking forward to finally being done with school and take a small break for awhile. It took me 10 years to achieve my undergrad. I worked very hard to get here and I’m grateful.

Cheers to a good summer!

0522162003_hdr2.jpg.jpg

This entry was posted in Transition, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 Months, 3 days

  1. Empress876 says:

    Good luck on your journey.

Leave a Reply

