Silver and Patience

Hello,

Today, April 6th, 2017, I found my first silver/grey hair at age 29.

0406171057_HDR~2

I saw it this morning and could not stop smiling.   I remember back in my early 20s I thought about how excited I would be when I found my first strand of silver. Sure enough, that day has come and I’m absolutely joyous.  Of all places to find this hair, it would be in the new born chin whiskers.  To me, aging is something to celebrate.  I never thought I would live this long and I look forward to what comes next.  I also did not expect that the beard I’d grow to be one of salt and pepper!

I’m reminded of a quote by one of my  favorite TV characters from the show Northern Exposure.   In an episode titled, Northwest Passages, one of the characters, Maggie, is turning 30. Chris Stevens, the radio host in the fictional quirky town of Cicely, Alaska remarked:

“Here in the Western world, we have this morbid fear of aging, this simplistic glorification of youth.  In the East, Old Age is something to be revered—it’s the top of the heap, a time of wisdom and influence.  

People impose all these chronological imperatives on themselves.”

Indeed, I see this silver strand on my chin as a gift.  A reminder of all the things I’ve learned, and persevered.  My life is not linear and that’s perfectly okay. I feel sincere gratitude and openness to what comes next.


 

Last week I strained my psoas muscle.  I rested for a week and then yesterday I decided to do some light walking and upper body.  I figured that since I won’t be doing any lower body exercise the muscle should be fine.  I learned the hard way that the psoas muscle impacts everything.  I felt a bit worried that I  may have really messed up my back.  A few friends of mine offered words of encouragement, reminding me that Bruce Lee had a back injury.  Through rest, patience, and discipline he was able to train again.  I took that to heart and have been in full on recovery mode.  Most nights I relax in a warrior rejuvination soak, aka, an epsom salt bath.

0406171912_HDR

Over the counter anti-inflammatory meds cause severe stomach upset, and so taking them would just trade one issue for another.  I needed to look at alternative means of pain relief.  Tiger Balm is one of my go-to muscle rubs.

0403171752a_HDR

I went to the Asian market a few days ago and picked up some ginseng tonics. Ginseng helps with inflammation.

0406172210_HDR

I’ve also been unwinding in the evenings with some Tonic water. The quinine in it can help ease muscle spasms (Leg cramps, back pain, etc).  That is if I drink enough of it.

Another remedy I’ve been using is Golden Milk. (Further reading). I tweaked the recipe a little bit.  Tumeric, ginger, cayenne, and ginseng are all wonderful anti-inflammatory ingredients. It’s also quite tasty.

Ravn’s Golden Potion
1 1/2 cup coconut milk
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1/4 teaspoon black peppercorns
1 cinnamon stick
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon of turmeric powder or 1in piece of raw tumeric root
1 inch piece of raw ginger
1 tablespoon of honey
1 teaspoon of ginseng powder
1 pinch of cayenne pepper
Put it all in a sauce pan and simmer for 10-15min.  Enjoy.

My heating pad has become a dear friend now.  Besides the back issue regarding my fitness goals, my bulking goal has stagnated around 139-140lbs.  I need to gain 4-5 more pounds to reach that goal.  Consuming enough calories has been very difficult so I decided to make my own epic mass gain shakes.
0405171514_HDR
All of that together added up to around 960calories of pure whole foods (besides the protein powders and other sups).  1/3 of my caloric intake goal of the day. These have really helped to boost my mood too, because I’m finally getting enough food in my system.

I’ve also been mixing things up a bit to make eating more enticing.

0403171852_HDR~2~2

Yaki Udon with fried tofu


My acne has been slowly fading. However, it’s leaving behind some atrophic scarring. I’m a little nervous about it at first, but there are a lot of ways to go about healing them, and some may stay forever.  I’m keeping in mind that it’s not a hopeless situation, and that this too is a lesson of patience.


This Saturday I work an overnight shift. This will be a new experience.  The week ahead I am also covering about 5 extra shifts. This will double my paycheck next month. Excellent!

Until next time,

Ravn Thor

 

 

This entry was posted in Body/Fitness/Nutrition, Transition, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

