Mane and body hair

In this post I’m going to talk about hair.

“Give me a head with hair, long beautiful hair
Shining, gleaming, streaming, flaxen, waxen
Give me down to there, hair, shoulder length or longer
Here baby, there, momma, everywhere, daddy, daddy

Hair, flow it, show it
Long as God can grow, my hair!”

Hair
The American Tribal Love-Rock Musical
1968

0518171454_HDR

To me, long hair is incredibly masculine.  I jokingly say that my hair is “the source of my powers” like in the story of Sampson.  I think the last time I ever had a super-short haircut was probably when I was in 4th grade.

I’ve always identified with men who have long hair.  

I can’t quite articulate the meaning of long hair to me, because it’s much deeper than aesthetic.

The thought of cutting my hair has crossed my mind many times, but even the thought of it makes me cringe.  There is a lot of significance in the meaning of hair length in many cultures, and significance in cutting it.  To some, the act of cutting hair is an act of letting go of a time in ones life, an act of moving forward and healing. In another way, cutting the hair is a way to express grief.  In history, forcibly cutting the hair of a warrior was an act of humiliation and oppression.

Keeping my hair long is a way for me to feel closer to my indigenous heritage.  Being a mixed-race adoptee with no access to birth records that have the paternal father on it makes it exceptionally difficult to enroll in my tribe, but that doesn’t invalidate the truth in my blood.

I’ve gone in and gotten a trim about once or twice each year.  Every time I go, the hair stylist always compliments at how healthy my hair is.  I suppose the reason behind this is that I don’t dye or bleach my hair, and I eat a diet that is high in Omega 3s and vitamins and minerals that are good for skin and hair.  When people make comments about how young I look or how healthy my hair is, I tend to say that it’s because I eat a lot of avocados. Which is only partially true.

I shampoo my hair now once or twice a week at most. I also brush my hair twice a day with a boar bristle brush. This stimulates and exfoliates the scalp encouraging growth and also keeps the hair clean and protected by distributing the hairs natural oils.
After a shower, I use pure argan oil as a leave-in conditioner. This protects my hair from heat when using blowdryer or flat iron.
0518171507_HDR

When I do shampoo, I use a bar shampoo that does not come in a plastic bottle(plastic bottles tend to be made with BPA).  I avoid any shampoo and conditioners that have sulfates, parabens, and phthalates in them.  These chemicals are known endocrine disrupters that have a feminizing effect on men and in both men and women these toxins can cause hormonal imbalances and premature hair loss. Hormones also play a key part in mood, and since I deal with the daily struggle of Bipolar disorder I am hyper vigilant on anything that can throw me off balance.

0518171458_HDR_20170518150441517

Once a week I deep-condition with a homemade serum that’s made out of coconut oil, extra virgin olive oil, tea tree, peppermint, and rosemary essential oils. I leave it in my hair for a couple hours before I wash my hair.
My hair is actually naturally wavy/curly but I feel more comfortable with it straight. I would make a pun that this is because ‘nothing about me is straight.’ Some day though I may just let my  hair run wild and untamed.

January 2018 I turn 30 years old. I’m considering getting my hair cut that day and donating it to locks of love.  It could be a symbolic way for myself of releasing and letting go of my turbulent 20somethings and embracing my 30s renewed.  I may change my mind, but it’s a thought.


Facial hair is coming in more! Looking forward to this getting thicker.

0518171453a_HDR0518171453_HDR

Another area where hair has really started to grow…

0518171459_HDRYeah this is really starting to crawl up to my chest now.  I didn’t think I’d be a hairy guy. Who knew?

Until next time,

Ravn Thor

This entry was posted in Body/Fitness/Nutrition, Transition, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mane and body hair

  1. About long hair being manly: Same! As for now long hair sadly worsens my dysphoria, so I’m keeping it short, but in the future I want to grow it out again. I can’t explain it either, long hair has so much more meaning to it than it being pretty!
    Kudos to you for staying so incredibly true to yourself, I honestly enjoy that so much about you

    • Ravn Thor says:

      Thanks for the kind words, Sylveran!
      I can definitely relate to hair and dysphoria. When I was pre-T 2 years ago I fantasized about cutting all of my hair off out of dysphoric anguish, but in that way it was an act of self-harm, whereas to some it would have been an act of liberation. If I had had short hair it would have looked very feminine on me thereby making the dysphoria worse.
      What’s interesting is 2 years ago, Pre-T, I traveled to Scotland for a trip and was completely recognized as a man there—long hair and all. In different places in the world, in the country, in ones U.S state, masculinities are read very differently. So in some places and to some people I read very masculine pre-T. Now that I’m close to 2 years on T I am read as male 100% of the time, and that I think is due to the shadow forming above my lip on and under my chin.
      Being true to oneself, regardless of what anyone else things, is indeed the point of this whole journey. =)

Leave a Reply

