Everything turn, turn

Hello,

A few updates.  I did get a call back from that job and I got the full-time position.  It will be so great to finally work full-time with benefits and have enough money to sock away.

I start this coming Monday, and so I’ll be moving on Friday.  I got a truck with a car tow and will be doing the moving process alone.

I don’t want to disclose too much, but I will just say that things are really, really intensely rough right now. This move has me tied up in knots more so than feeling excited. Good vibes are most appreciated during this time.

I put in my two weeks notice a little bit ago. I rearranged some counseling appointments and got those loose ends tied up yesterday and today. I also cancelled my gym membership.  Leaving work has been kind of hard.  The clients said that they really like me and are going to miss me.

20170610_180703

Me in the office at my last week-end of this job.

A  co-worker of mine when she heard the news said that it really bummed her out because she had taken a liking to me.  She’s around mid-to-late 60s, and whenever I would come in to relieve her shift we always had nice conversations.  She said, “It’s too bad, I’ve really taken a liking to you. It’s rare to come across someone with such a great work ethic.” It felt really good to hear that. And then she gave me her number. I feel a sense of kindred spirits with her, and we will keep in touch.  My supervisor told me that if I ever wanted to apply to the branch in Fargo that he would write a really great letter of recommendation. I’m really happy I left the job with great ties, and that it could be something I could fall back on if this new job doesn’t work out.  I work tomorrow morning and then my last day is on Thursday.

This weekend I experimented with making Dr. Pepper bbq chicken.  I cooked it low and slow, with some hickory smoking chips.  It turned out amazing.  The clients really loved it.  The clients said that my cooking was something they always looked forward to when it was my rotation to work.  I’m happy that my passion for cooking has been a source of comfort, empowerment, and something to look forward to for them. Little things like that can make a huge difference.

20170609_214607

20170609_215047

Here is the June Strawberry moon.  I took it with my phone, so it’s really not the greatest photo.  It was beautiful to watch rise on Friday.

Nothing is permanent. Everything is in a constant state of change and growth.  Sometimes, growth hurts so much it’s unbearable. But this too is only temporary.  I trust that things are going to go how they’re supposed to go, and I have the strength and resilience to get through it, as well as a strong support system in place. Frodo didn’t carry the Ring to Mt. Doom alone.

20170612_145514

Things are really rough right now because this is a huge change.  I don’t know if I made the right decision with this move or not, but I can’t undo it, I have to go through it now because of the decisions I have made.  I really hope it all will turn out okay.

To everything (turn, turn, turn)
There is a season (turn, turn, turn)
And a time to every purpose, under heaven
A time to build up, a time to break down
A time to dance, a time to mourn
A time to cast away stones, a time to gather stones together
To everything (turn, turn, turn)
There is a season (turn, turn, turn)
And a time to every purpose, under heaven

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

